All of us experience many kinds of losses in our lives. Examples include:

  • Loss of a loved one through death or separation/ divorce
  • Loss of a parent for children and adults
  • Job loss / loss of income
  • Loss of good health through illness

Each kind of loss effects each of us in a different way. But there are some predictable stages that most people pass through. Kübler-Ross identified five stages of grief.

  • Shock and denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance

Loss is an inevitable part of life. It does not always mean someone needs the help of a professional. However, difficulties in life can be related to unresolved grief experience i.e. not being able to go through a full experience of mourning their loss.